Test kitchen at the CCOV

The CCOV is inviting to you to its Sunday brunch! A three-course meal will accompany the three danced presentations and each dish will be inspired by the choreographic content of the invited artists.

Come and awaken your senses and curiosity: discover the aspirations and surprise menus of each chef, dedicated to the day’s three choreographers! For these culinary wizards, it will be a chance to express themselves freely and non-judgmentally, to test out new ideas, take risks and engage in spontaneous and enriching exchanges with the public.

Free admission || Voluntary contribution at the door : $5 to $10, depending on your budget 🙂 || Cash payment only

Doors open: 12:45 p.m.
Brunch & performances:  1 to 2:30 p.m.


Test Kitchen 1st edition
On November 4th, the CCOV invites you to their Sunday brunch. The menu is threefold and will be prepared by Swaneige Bertrand, a specialized chef in indigenous cuisine. Each course will be assorted to one of our guest artists’ performance: Be Heintzman HopePeter Jasko et Axelle Munezero.

Swaneige Bertrand is both from the Acho Dene koe nation in the Northwest Territories and Quebec, now living in Montreal. Growing up with her sisters, she spent her youth surrounded by books and paintbrushes. Her childhood environment thus favored the birth and growth of the multidisciplinary artist she has become today. Graduated from John Abbott College in Theatrical Design, Swaneige first started working as a sound and lighting technician for the Nation Film Board. She eventually reoriented her career to become a stylist and costume designer. Alongside, she is also the chef owner of the catering service Chef Swaneige, with which she incorporates native elements to her cuisine.

Peter Jasko begun his training in Slovakia, before entering the P.A.R.T.S. School for Contemporary Dance in Brussels. He has danced with numerous choreographers and companies including Zuzana Hajkova, ASpO, Roberto Olivan, OXOXOX – Juri Konjar, G. Barberio Corsetti & Fatou Traore and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. He regularly works with David Zambrano and founded the choreographers-dancers Les SlovaKs Dance Collective. In 2015 he created along with Clara Furey Untied Tales (the vanished power of the usual reign).

Be Heintzman Hope is a facilitator and multidisciplinary artist moving between sound, dance, installation and performance based in Tio’tia:ke/Montreal. Over the past five years, they have established a breath, voice and movement practice under the name Womb Cxre – an “ephemeral institution” that prioritizes the needs of queer, trans, racialized bodies and sex workers that centers giving birth to self through movement. They have facilitated workshops for various organizations such as Sherpa Centre de Recherche, Studio 303, SBC Gallery, Articule, Cinema Politica, and The Center for Gender Advocacy. They are a 3 year artist-in residence at the MAI (Maison d’Arts Interculturels) and have participated in Impulstanz’s danceWEB scholarship program. Within their hybrid practice they have performed in DIY contexts as well as larger venues and festivals locally and internationally.

Axelle “Ebony” Munezero has been in the street dance scene for over 15 years as a performer and choreographer. Specializing in Whacking she trainned with pionners such has Viktor Manoel, “Tyrone proctor”. In 2011, she began a bachelor’s degree in dance, a creation profile at UQAM. Since 2011, she has been involved in various research and creation projects, notably with the RUBBERBANDance Group, Alexandra “Spicey” Landé (Ebnfloh) and Saxon Fraser (Juxtapose). She is constantly invited all over the world to give WHacking workshops, especially in Japan, Russia, New York, China, etc. Ebony won Step ya game up twice ( 2010 and 2014) and won other renowned battles such as Bust a Move , House Dance International (NYC) and Supernova ( Taiwan). She also holds the biggest whacking event in Canada for 8 years: “Hot Mess” and developed a unique approach in Whacking named “Asymmetry”. She continues to create, dance, teach, organize and especially innovate in all the fields she touches. She has won several awards including “Dancer of the Year” in 2014 at the TUDS Festival in Toronto and “Hit of the Year” in 2018 for her remarkable involvement in the urban dance scene.

Cuisine labo au CCOV

Le CCOV vous invite pour le brunch dominical! Le menu « 3 services » offert accompagnera 3 présentations dansées et chaque mets sera inspiré par le travail chorégraphique des artistes invités.

À chaque évènement, venez éveiller vos sens et votre curiosité : découvrez un chef, ses aspirations et son menu surprise, dédié aux trois chorégraphes du jour ! De leur côté, ces derniers profiteront de cette journée pour travailler dans un espace d’expression libre, sans jugements, où ils sont encouragés à tester de nouvelles idées, prendre des risques tout en ayant des échanges spontanés et enrichissants avec le public.

Entrée libre || Contribution volontaire à la porte de 5 à 10$ selon vos moyens 🙂 || Paiement comptant seulement

Ouverture des portes : 12h45
Brunch & performances : de 13h à 14h30


Cuisine Labo édition 1
Le 4 novembre, le CCOV vous invite à son brunch dominical. Le menu servi en trois temps sera concocté par Swaneige Bertrand, chef spécialisée en cuisine autochtone, et chaque dégustation sera assortie à l’une des prestations des artistes invités.ées : Be Heintzman HopePeter Jasko et Axelle Munezero.

Swaneige Bertrand est de la nation Acho Dene koe des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ainsi que Québécoise vivant à Montréal. Elle a grandi avec ses sœurs, entourée de livres et de pinceaux pour peinturer. C’est donc dès l’enfance qu’elle a commencé à développer les compétences requises pour devenir l’artiste multidisciplinaire qu’elle est aujourd’hui. Formée au Collège John Abbott en Design Théâtral, Swaneige a commencé sa carrière dans le milieu en tant que technicienne son et lumières pour l’Office National du Film. Elle s’est ensuite spécialisée en tant que costumière et styliste. Parallèlement, elle est également chef propriétaire du traiteur Chef Swaneige avec lequel elle s’amuse à créer des plats aux saveurs autochtones.

Après avoir commencé sa formation en Slovaquie, Peter Jasko a poursuivi ses études à P.A.R.T.S., en Belgique. Il a dansé avec plusieurs chorégraphes et compagnies tels que Zuzana Hajkova, ASpO, Roberto Olivan, OXOXOX – Juri Konjar, G. Barberio Corsetti & Fatou Traore et Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui. Il collabore régulièrement avec David Zambrano et est membre fondateur du collectif de chorégraphes-danseurs Les SlovaKs Dance Collective. En 2015, il co-crée avec Clara Furey la performance Untied Tales (the vanished power of the usual reign).

Be Heintzman Hope vit à Tio’tia:ke, communément appelé Montréal, et œuvre à l’intersection de l’art et de la facilitation, utilisant le chant, la danse, et la performance dans ses créations. Au cours des cinq dernières années, l’artiste a cultivé une pratique de respiration, voix et mouvement sous le nom de Womb Cxre. Au centre de cette pratique est la naissance du mouvement et du soi. Be assure le rôle d’intermédiaire pour les ateliers de plusieurs organismes tel que Sherpa Centre de Recherche, Studio 303, SBC Gallery, Articule, Cinema Politica, and The Center for Gender Advocacy. Iel est l’artiste en résidence pour une durée de trois ans au MAI (Montréal, arts interculturels) et a participé au programme de bourse Impulstanz’s danceWEB. Au travers de sa pratique hybride, Be Heintzman Hope a présenté son travail dans des contextes « DIY », de même que dans de plus grandes salles et festivals localement et à l’international.

Depuis 15 ans, Axelle Munezero est présente sur la scène de la danse urbaine en tant qu’interprète et chorégraphe. Spécialisée en whacking, elle a suivi sa formation avec les pionniers de cette danse dont Viktor Manoel et Tyrone Proctor. En 2011, elle entame un baccalauréat en danse, profil création à l’UQAM. Depuis 2011, elle participe à divers projets de recherche et création, notamment auprès du Groupe RUBBERBANDance, d’Alexandra « Spicey » Landé (Ebnfloh) et de Saxon Fraser (Juxtapose). Elle est constamment invitée partout à travers le monde pour donner des ateliers de whacking, notamment au Japon, en Russie, à New York, en Chine, etc. Depuis 7 ans, elle organise « Hot Mess », le plus important événement de whacking au Canada. Durant cette période, elle créée son approche unique au whacking nommée « Asymmetry« . Elle continue à créer, danser, enseigner, organiser et surtout innover dans tous les domaines auxquels elle touche. Elle a reçu plusieurs prix dont Dancer of the year, en 2014 au Festival TUDS à Toronto et le prix Hit of the Year en 2018 pour son implication remarquable auprès de la scène en danse urbaine .