Daina Ashbee, Associate Artist

Photo : Patrice Mathieu

The CCOV is proud to announce that choreographer Daina Ashbee has joined the Centre as an Associate Artist. This alliance stems from the CCOV’s commitment to support promising artists by providing them with the administrative and logistical resources needed to achieve their creation, production and presentation objectives.

CONTACT

Contact :info.dainaashbee@gmail.com | Website : www.dainaashbee.com| Facebook

BIOGRAPHY

Daina Ashbee is an artist, performer and choreographer based in Montreal, known for her radical works at the edge of dance and performance, which intelligently approach such complex subjects and taboos as female sexuality, Métis identity, and climate change. For the choreographer, creation is an instinctive and quasi-spiritual quest, which embraces her relationship with her ancestors, the universe and the entire cosmos.

At the young age of 26, she had already won two awards for her choreographies. She was a double prizewinner at the Prix de la danse de Montréal, winning both the Prix du CALQ for Best Choreography of 2015-2016 for her choreographic installation When the Ice Melts, Will We Drink the Water?, and the Prix Découverte de la danse, presented by Agora de la danse and Tangente, for Unrelated. Also, Daina was named by the prestigious German Tanz magazine as one of 30 promising artists for the year 2017 and named one of 25 to watch by the American publication, Dance Magazine in 2018.

Recognized as one of the most promising young choreographers of the next generation since 2015, her work has been presented 67 times in 13 countries and 23 cities. Her work being presented in some of the most prestigious festivals (The Venice Biennale, Oktoberdans, Les Rencontre Chorégraphiques de Seine Saint Denis, and the Munich Dance Biennale) and on the stages of the world (Canada, France, Spain, Belgium, Norway, Finland, Greenland, Germany, Italy, Switzerland, and Mexico).

Daina is an associate artist at Agora de la danse in Montreal until 2020 and the associate artist of Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV. In 2018, she returned to the Venice Biennale to teach at the Biennale College, whilst creating a group-piece for 15 students. She continues to tour in Norway, Belgium, Italy, Czech Republic, Canada and the United States, meanwhile creating a new group piece and a solo set to premiere in 2020 and 2021.

Daina Ashbee, artiste associée

Photo : Patrice Mathieu

C’est avec une grande fierté que le CCOV lance son nouveau projet pilote avec l’annonce de l’arrivée de la chorégraphe Daina Ashbee en tant qu’artiste associée. Cette alliance est née de la volonté du CCOV d’accompagner et d’épauler des artistes prometteurs en leur apportant les ressources administratives et logistiques nécessaires à l’atteinte de leurs objectifs de création, production et diffusion.

CONTACT

Contact : info.dainaashbee@gmail.com | Site internet : www.dainaashbee.com | Facebook

BIOGRAPHIE

Daina Ashbee est une artiste interprète et chorégraphe de Montréal, reconnue pour ses œuvres radicales, à la lisière de la danse et de la performance, qui abordent avec intelligence des sujets complexes ou tabous comme la sexualité féminine, l’identité métisse, et les changements climatiques. La création est pour elle une quête instinctive et quasi spirituelle, qui englobe sa relation avec son corps, ses ancêtres, l’univers et le cosmos tout entier.

À seulement 26 ans, elle avait déjà remporté deux prix pour ses œuvres chorégraphiques. En novembre 2016, elle fut doublement primée aux Prix de la danse de Montréal, remportant coup sur coup le Prix du CALQ pour la meilleure œuvre chorégraphique de la saison 2015-2016, décerné pour son installation chorégraphique When the ice melts, will we drink the water?, et le Prix Découverte de la danse, présenté par l’Agora de la danse et Tangente, pour Unrelated. En 2017, elle est nommée «Promising Talent of the Year», par le prestigieux magazine allemand Tanz et le Dance Magazine la cite dans sa liste des 25 artistes à suivre en 2018.

Reconnu comme l’une des chorégraphes les plus prometteuses de sa génération depuis ses débuts en 2015, son travail a été présenté à 67 reprises, dans 13 pays et 23 villes. Elle est régulièrement présentée dans les festivals les plus prestigieux (La Biennale de Venise, Oktoberdans, Les Rencontres Chorégraphiques de Seine Saint Denis et la Munich Dance Biennale) et sur les scènes du monde entier (Canada, France, Espagne, Belgique, Norvège, Finlande, Groenland, Allemagne, Italie, Suisse et Mexique).

Artiste associée à l’Agora de la danse à Montréal jusqu’en 2020, le Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV (Montréal) lui offre, en 2017, le statut d’Artiste Associée. En 2018, elle est de nouveau invitée par la Biennale de Venise pour enseigner au « Biennale College » et y créer sa première pièce de groupe pour 15 étudiants. En parallèle, elle continue de tourner en Norvège, en Belgique, en Italie, en République tchèque, aux États-Unis et au Canada, en attendant de créer une pièce de groupe et eu solo dont les premières mondiales sont prévues pour 2020 et 2021.