IN MY BODY (Crazy Smooth)

IN MY BODY, choreographed by Crazy Smooth, is the second creation within  the Centre de Création O Vertigo’s long-term residency program.

“On behalf of the board of directors and the entire CCOV team, I am pleased to announce the appointment of Crazy Smooth as the CCOV’s second long-term artist in residence. His application impressed the selection committee by the excellence of his professional career and artistic approach. By selecting an artist from the hip-hop culture, the CCOV is pleased to provide increased visibility to hip-hop and related artistic forms, which play a key role in the dynamism of the Quebec dance community.”

Paul Caskey, CCOV Executive Director


Photos : Jerrick Collantes

IN MY BODY

Executive Producer Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV, in association with the National Arts Centre’s National Creation Fund.

In My Body is a co-production of The CanDance Network Creation Fund, Brian Webb Dance Company, Yukon Arts Centre, Banff Centre for the Arts, dance Immersion and Canadian Stage, supported by the Canada Council for the Arts.


PERFORMANCE DATES

World premiere in 2022.


Excerpt (work in progress)


Description

It’s said that the bravest thing a dancer can do is grow old – for a b-boy/b-girl, the experience is approaching heroic. In keeping with hip-hop culture, b-boys/b-girls present a façade of confidence and invincibility as they engage in battles to prove their value and establish their dominance. The resulting vocabulary is one of the most physically demanding and visually impressive of the dance genres and leaves no room for the expression of vulnerability.

For In My Body, dancer / choreographer Crazy Smooth brings together an intergenerational group of dancers and an international creative team for an intensely athletic investigation of the evolution of self and the effects of aging on street dancers.

Dancers and collaborators

with : Julie Benoît (Julie Rock), Arnaldo Betancourt (Effect), Jerick Collantes (Anyo), Jayson Collantes, David Dundas (DKC (OG/Elder)), Mélissa Flérangile (Melly Mel), Natasha Jean-Bart (Tash (OG/Elder)), Guy-Emmanuel Septier (Bourrik), Yvon Soglo (Crazy Smooth), Nadine Sylvestre (Nubian Nene), Tiffany Leung

Music: DJ Shash’u
Text: Alejandro Rodriguez
Dramaturgy: Sophie Michaud
Multimedia: HUB Studio


Cover page credits : Photo by Jerrick Collantes – Interprètes : Natasha Jean-Bart (Tash (OG/Elder)), Julie Benoît (Julie Rock), Mélissa Flérangile (Melly Mel), Tiffany Leung, Nadine Sylvestre (Nubian Nene)

IN MY BODY (Crazy Smooth)

IN MY BODY, chorégraphiée par Crazy Smooth, est la deuxième création produite par le Centre de Création O Vertigo dans le cadre de son programme de résidence principal : la résidence longue durée.

« Au nom des membres du conseil d’administration et de toute l’équipe du CCOV, je suis heureux d’annoncer aujourd’hui l’arrivée de Crazy Smooth en tant que deuxième artiste en résidence longue durée au CCOV. Sa candidature a su convaincre le comité de sélection par l’excellence de son parcours professionnel et de sa proposition artistique. À travers le choix d’un artiste issu de la culture hip-hop, le CCOV a le plaisir d’offrir une visibilité accrue aux formes artistiques qui en découlent et qui jouent un rôle indéniable dans le dynamisme de la communauté de la danse au Québec. »

Paul Caskey, Directeur général CCOV


Photos : Jerrick Collantes

IN MY BODY

Producteur exécutif: Centre de Création O Vertigo – CCOV,
en association avec le Fonds national de création du Centre national des Arts.

In My Body est une co-production du Fonds de création du réseau CanDance, Brian Webb Dance Company, Yukon Arts Centre, Banff Centre for the Arts, dance Immersion et Canadian Stage, et soutenu par le Conseil des Arts du Canada.


TOURNÉE

Première mondiale en 2022.


Extrait (en création)


Description

On dit que la chose la plus courageuse qu’un danseur puisse faire est de vieillir – pour un b-boy / b-girl, l’expérience approche de l’héroïsme. Cette prochaine pièce à grand déploiement sera donc l’occasion pour le chorégraphe d’aborder les sujets de la confiance et de l’invincibilité dont les les b-boys / b-girls font preuve sur scène versus la vulnérabilité face au temps qui passe et au vieillissement du corps, leur outil principal et vecteur d’expression.

Pour In My Body, le danseur et chorégraphe Crazy Smooth réunit un groupe de danseurs intergénérationnels et une équipe de création internationale pour une exploration intensément athlétique de l’évolution personnelle et des effets du vieillissement des danseurs de rue.

Danseurs et collaborateurs

Avec : Julie Benoît (Julie Rock), Arnaldo Betancourt (Effect), Jerick Collantes (Anyo), Jayson Collantes, David Dundas (DKC (OG/Elder)), Mélissa Flérangile (Melly Mel), Natasha Jean-Bart (Tash (OG/Elder)), Guy-Emmanuel Septier (Bourrik), Yvon Soglo (Crazy Smooth), Nadine Sylvestre (Nubian Nene), Tiffany Leung

Music: DJ Shash’u
Texte: Alejandro Rodriguez
Dramaturge: Sophie Michaud
Multimédia: HUB Studio


Photo de couverture : Jerrick Collantes – Interprètes : Natasha Jean-Bart (Tash (OG/Elder)), Julie Benoît (Julie Rock), Mélissa Flérangile (Melly Mel), Tiffany Leung, Nadine Sylvestre (Nubian Nene)