Crazy Smooth: 2019-2021 Long-term Artist in Residence

We are currently looking for street dance artists
to take part in Crazy Smooth’s next large-scale work!
More information on the auditions here.

Dancing since 1997, Crazy Smooth is one of Canada’s top street dancers, performers, choreographers, instructors, judges, and community leaders. He is founder and creative director of Bboyizm, an award-winning street-dance company that has been instrumental in the preservation and growth of street dance in Canada and internationally. Founded in 2004, Bboyizm is Canada’s premier street-dance company. The company is committed to promote and preserve the foundation, authenticity, and essence of all street dances. Bboyizm believes that authentic self-expression enables an individual – and by extension, a community – to realize its full potential. In addition to performances, the company provides a complete street dance experience that includes outreach and street-dance programs in schools and communities across Canada. 


Photo credit: Becki Peckam from Bold Creative


Read the CCOV’s press release concerning Crazy Smooth’s arrival.

Crazy Smooth (BBOYIZM) – Website

Facebook: Bboyizm Dance Company


Press Excerpts

“Crazy Smooth and Bboyizm have effortlessly bridged the distance from the street to the stage. Fusing influences of street dance and hip-hop into a modern dance context, they are creating a new extremely physical world that is theatrical, virtuosic and urban at its very core. Touring with performances, workshops and outreach activities throughout Canada, Bboyizm has built a profile and following from coast to coast to coast.”
Jeanne Holmes, Artistic Producer, Canada Dance Festival

“The back flips and high-octane floor and foot work that make B-boying so exhilaratingly watchable are here. But [Crazy Smooth’s] vignettes, set to a range of music, go deeper than tricks, paying with the roots of hip-hop and other street forms.”
Straight.com

Crazy Smooth: Artiste en résidence longue durée 2019-2021

Nous sommes présentement à la recherche d’artistes en street dance
pour participer à la prochaine oeuvre à grand déploiement
de Crazy Smooth! Plus d’information sur les auditions ici.

Depuis ses débuts en tant que danseur en 1997 Crazy Smooth est devenu l’un des danseurs urbains, interprètes, chorégraphes, enseignants, juges, et figures communautaires les plus importants au Canada. Il est le fondateur et Directeur artistique de Bboyizm, compagnie de danse urbaine maintes fois récompensée pour sa contribution déterminante à la préservation et au développement de la danse urbaine au Canada et dans le monde. Fondée en 2004, Bboyizm est une compagnie de danse urbaine majeure au Canada. La compagnie s’engage à promouvoir et à préserver les fondements, l’authenticité, et l’essence de toutes les danses urbaines. Pour Bboyizm, l’expression de soi authentique permet à l’individu – et par extension à la communauté – de réaliser son plein potentiel. En plus de la présentation de spectacles, la compagnie propose une expérience de danse urbaine complète, incluant des programmes de sensibilisation et de danse urbaine dans les écoles et les communautés partout au Canada.


Crédit photo: Becki Peckam de Bold Creative


Lire le communiqué du CCOV sur l’arrivée de Crazy Smooth.

Site internet de Crazy Smooth (BBOYIZM)

Facebook: Bboyizm Dance Company


Extraits de presse

« Crazy Smooth et Bboyizm sont parvenus, tout naturellement, à rapprocher la rue et la scène. En fusionnant les influences de la danse urbaine et du hip hop dans un contexte de danse moderne, ils parviennent à créer un nouvel univers extrêmement physique à l’essence théâtrale, virtuose et urbaine. En présentant des spectacles, ateliers et activités de sensibilisation à travers le Canada, Bboyizm s’est construit une réputation et un réseau d’un bout à l’autre du pays. »
Jeanne Holmes, Productrice artistique, Canada Dance Festival

“The back flips and high-octane floor and foot work that make B-boying so exhilaratingly watchable are here. But [Crazy Smooth’s] vignettes, set to a range of music, go deeper than tricks, paying with the roots of hip-hop and other street forms.”
Straight.com