Sorry by Crazy Smooth + Shook Ones

The CCOV is pleased to welcome its new long-term artist in residence for 2019-2021, Crazy Smooth. As a welcome, and to allow the Montreal public and CCOV’s regular visitors to meet him, we will present Sorry, a story of love, hip-hop and hustle on Thursday, October 17 at 7PM, at the CCOV studio in Place des Arts.

Practical information:

  • Free event;
  • Mandatory reservation;
  • See our Facebook event;
  • Length: about 60min;
  • Starts at 7PM (doors will open at 6:30PM);
  • At the CCOV studio, Place des Arts, 175 Sainte-Catherine Street West, H2X 1Z8.

Sorry is a multimedia theatrical experience that utilizes dance, spoken word and projection to tell a story about cultures colliding that’s never been more relevant or necessary than today. Sorry is an immersive exploration of contemporary interracial partnerships, narrated and annotated by the secret Poet Laureate of the A train.

Shook Ones is choreographer, Cindy Salgado, writer/performer, Alejandro Rodriguez, and multimedia artist, Yazmany Arboleda; they’re joined for Sorry by Yvon “Crazy Smooth” Soglo, one of Canada’s premiere street dancers and the founding director of Bboyizm.


Writer: Alejandro Rodriguez
Projection Designer: Yazmany Arboleda
Sound Designer: Will Stone
Costume Designer: Marion Talan
Director: Mauricio Tafur Salgado
Choreographers: Cindy Salgado and Yvon Crazy Smooth Soglo
Set and Lighting Designer: Paul Hudson
Production: Emlyn VanBruinswaardt
Projectionist: Francis-Olivier Métras
Music: Creeasian
Company Manager: Gillian Reid

Omar: Julio Trinidad
Sarah: Cindy Salgado
Kidd Fred: Yvon Crazy Smooth Soglo
DJ: Creeasian
MC: Will Stone
Patrick: James Dean Palmer
Nemesis: Jamario Stills
Stokely: Will Adams
Iso: Juan Collado

Interviewees: Jermaine Spivey. Kambi Gathesha. Spencer Theberge. Alessandra Marconi. Naomi Navkal, Fatima Fazal, Lucia Eastman, Dean Berlin.
Dancers on the Subway: Mayte Natalio, Robin Tjay, Val “Ms Vee” Ho, Jennifer Florentino. Alessandra Marconi. Kambi Gathesha
Production team: Francis-Olivier Métras, Corazon Aguirre, Juan Collado, Dana Wilson.
Special thanks to Steven Hitt and the LaGuardia Performing Arts Center, Dylan Moore, Nemesis Warren, Gillian Reid

Photo credit: George Welik
Performers : Cindy Salgado & Crazy Smooth