OPEN STUDIOS 2017-2018

Designed to get audience feedback before the work is finalized, the Open Studio provides choreographers with a chance to show their work and engage an audience well in advance of the dissemination process, thereby allowing artists to develop and refine their early ideas.


Ford Mckeown Larose | AmalGame 2.0



Photo : Anaïs Gachet

AmalGame 2.0 is a choreographic challenge aimed to bring out the best mixture of chaos and order. In this art work, Ford wants to achieve a fluid representation of Popping & Boogaloo concepts embodied by dancers of all age & level.

Artistic direction & choreography : Ford Mckeown Larose
Performers : Romy Lacasse, Morganne Lavarenne, Amy Jessica Pilette, Mukoma-K. Nshinga, Basilio-Augusto Rabanal-Ayansen, Darianne Ramirez-Blanchette, Léonard Turgeon

Montreal based, Ford Mckeown Larose is a choreographer specialized in street dance. His professional career begins in 2009, where he builds his name as Popper & Boogalooer through many national and international competitions. In the meantime, he shares his knowledge in many schools of Montreal and its surroundings. In the recent years, his need for discovery and his spiritual experiences have led him to focus on deeper & more personal choreographic work.


Thea Patterson | Silver



Photo credit: J Gordaneer

Silver is a new work in development that delves into the performativity of materials/objects/and bodies as both choreographic and sculptural elements. Activated through games and scores the performers will oscillate between interiority and exteriority, moving between, as they layer and slide what could be described as different sorts of bodies… their bodies, and the objects/bodies we converse with, the sound/body, the light/body which act as the externalization of shifting sensorial states. The somatic world this proposes lend itself to interiority, the landscapes of sensation are navigated, sensed, danced. Silver makes spaces for that which is just a touch to the side, that glimmers and then disappears. This elusivity troubles fixed identity, in its waveryness it does not announce, it does not assert and this is troubling. Troubling in the sense that it unsettles our codes of reading, our desire for meaning, our demand for certitude. Potentials remain in the spaces that open in the activation of multiples. 

Choreography and concept: Thea Patterson,
Collaborators and performers: Rachel Harris and Elinor Feuter,
Artistic consult: Kathy Casey,
Made with the support of Interdisciplinary Writer’s Unit at Playwrights’ Workshop Montreal.

Thea Patterson (BFA, MA) is a choreographer, performer, and dramaturge based in Montreal. Her early choreographic works include Rhyming Couplets (08), and A Soft Place to Fall (06). From 2007 to 2015 she worked as dramaturge, and co-artistic director on seven acclaimed works including Eesti: Myths and Machines (2011) which received mention as top dance works of the year by the Voir. An interest in collaborative models then lead to the co- founding of the collective The Choreographers (2007-2011). During that time, she also co-choreographed  Norman(2008) for Lemieux.Pilon.4Dart which toured extensively through Asia and Europe. Her more recent work explores self-solo formats and an interest in expanded choreographic methods. This led her to make the dance that i cannot do (2013) which was presented at, amongst others, Movement Research, The Judson Church and the Munich Dance Festival. In 2016 she began work on her masters project between the is and the could be (2016) which explored emergent choreographic forms, and other methods for altering aspects of spectatorship.  In 2016, She completed her Masters at The Graduate School, DAS Choreography (Amsterdam).  Currently she is working on new projects in Montreal, Portugal, Amsterdam, and Newfoundland. She was recently selected to participate in an intensive choreographic residency with Deborah Hay. 


Lara Oundjian  | Going through the thing  (Working title)



Going through the thing 
 is an evolving visual landscape of encounters between human and object bodies, an exploration of how materials behave. Exposing qualities in order to reconstruct relationships through sensorial attention, curiosity and risk. Partially composed live, play as a method of survival becomes, by extension, a method of composition.

Choreographer : Lara Oudjian
Dancers : Justin de Luna, Lena Demnati, Kate Ramsden, Lara Oundjian

Lara Oundjian
is a Montreal-based dance, performance, and video maker and dramaturge. Her performance training includes experimental performance, contemporary dance and physical theatre (SMASH Berlin, the PORCH program at Ponderosa, workshops throfaugh Studio 303 and Circuit-est in Montreal and Tanzfabrik and Marameo in Berlin, as well as the Odin Theatret in Denmark (2014-2017). She trained in film production at the FAMU intensive program in Prague (2012). She holds a bachelor’s degree in Cinema Studies and Cultural Studies from McGill University (2014). As a maker and interpreter, Lara is interested in duration, live composition, body states and approaching the body as a material that can transform. Her current research involves attending to the haptic and sensorial processes of the performer/s who generate generating soundscapes and visual landscapes. Lara presented solo work at Ponderosa in Germany and at Theatre la Chapelle in Montreal in 2017.




The aim of the PEER TO PEER collective laboratory is to revisit the dance show Mine de rien which was created in 2015 by Liane Thériault and Marie Mougeolle. 4 creators have carte blanche to remix Mine de rien with the complicity of 6 dancers. The PEER TO PEER principle is to transform the original rules of the show into new ones mainly by playing with processes of hacking and collisions between different artistic universes.

Original idea : MINE DE RIEN : UN COLLECTIF (Liane Thériault et Marie Mougeolle)
Choreographers : Dans son salon (Emmalie Ruest et Karenne Gravel), Helen Simard, Andrew Turner
Dancers : Marijoe Foucher, Stéphanie Fromentin, Marie Mougeolle, Marine Rixhon, Liane Thériault, Antoine Turmine
Guitarist : Roger White

Marie Mougeolle
and Liane Thériault have been collaborating since 2012. They achieved their first collective creation in 2015 with “Mine de rien: une pièce” (offta 2015, 4th edition of Hors Lits Montréal in 2016).

As a dancer, Marie Mougeolle worked with Katya Montaignac, Sophie Corriveau, Les Soeurs Schmutt, Sarah Dell’Ava, Eduardo Ruiz Vergara, Helen Simard and Andrée Martin. Her solo “Entre autres” (2014) was presented in France and Vietnam. She is also a ballet teacher and joined La 2e Porte à Gauche in 2017.

Liane Thériault worked with Anne-Flore de Rochambeau, Les Soeurs Schmutt, Delphine Véronneau (Tuque et capuche [TeC]), Liliane Moussa, Karine Théorêt, Julie Lebel and Claudia Chan Tak. Since 2013, she is part of the collective Dans la salon as a video artist. In 2015, her solo piece was presented at Festival Bouge d’ici (” Personne (une) “), and at Festival Vue sur la Relève (“Somebody “).

In the fall of 2016, Marie and Liane founded MINE DE RIEN: UN COLLECTIF to give form and structure to their collaboration. Their next two choreographic projects are PEER TO PEER and Comment les idées se perdent.



Félix Hallé_Mine de rien: une pièce_Interprètes: Marie Mougeolle, Liane Thériault
Lara Oundjian_Real Play_Marilyn Cyr, Eline Guelat, Stephen John, Eryn Tempest, Chloe Hart

STUDIOS OUVERTS 2017-2018

En processus de création, l’artiste peut douter, vouloir tester des idées, souhaiter se confronter à des premiers regards… C’est exactement pour ce genre de cas de figure que le Studio Ouvert a été pensé: permettre aux créateurs de faire évoluer leur premier jet chorégraphique et favoriser la rencontre avec le public avant qu’une pièce ne soit finalisée.

2018

Thea Patterson | L’argent

PRÉSENTATION PUBLIQUE – DIM 28 JANVIER

RÉSERVATION

Photo credit: J Gordaneer

DESCRIPTION DE LA PIÈCE
L’ARGENT est une nouvelle œuvre en développement qui explore la performativité des matériaux / objets / corps en tant qu’éléments chorographiques et sculpturaux. Activés à travers des jeux et des partitions, les artistes oscillent entre intériorité et extériorité, se déplaçant entre eux, en superposant et en glissant ce qui pourrait être décrit comme différentes sortes de corps … leurs corps et les objets / corps avec lesquels nous conversons, le son / corps, lumière / corps qui agissent comme l’externalisation des états sensoriels changeants. Le monde somatique que cela propose se prête à l’intériorité, les paysages de la sensation sont navigués, sentis, dansés. L’ARGENT fait des espaces pour ce qui est juste un contact sur le côté, qui scintille et disparaît ensuite. Cette insouciance trouble l’identité fixe, elle n’annonce pas dans son ondulation, elle ne l’affirme pas et c’est troublant. Troublant dans le sens où cela perturbe nos codes de lecture, notre désir de sens, notre exigence de certitude. Les potentiels restent dans les espaces qui s’ouvrent dans l’activation des multiples

Chorégraphie et conception: Thea Patterson
Collaborateurs et interprètes : Rachel Harris and Elinor Feuter
Consultante artistique : Kathy Casey
Avec le support de « Interdisciplinary Writer’s Unit at Playwrights’ Workshop Montreal ».

BIOGRAPHIE
Thea Patterson (BFA, MA) est chorégraphe, et dramaturge basée à Montréal. Ses premières œuvres chorégraphiques comprennent Rhyming Couplets (08) et A Soft Place to Fall (06). De 2007 à 2015 elle a travaillé comme dramaturge, et co-directrice artistique sur sept œuvres acclamées dont Eesti: Myths and Machines (2011) qui a été nommée meilleure danse de l’année par le Voir. Un intérêt pour les modèles collaboratifs a ensuite conduit à la co-fondation du collectif The Choreographers (2007-2011). Au cours de cette période, elle a également co-chorégraphié Norman (2008) pour Lemieux.Pilon.4Dart qui a fait de nombreuses tournées en Asie et en Europe. Son travail plus récent explore des formats auto-solo et un intérêt pour les méthodes chorégraphiques élargies. Cela l’a amenée à faire la danse que je ne peux pas faire (2013) qui a été présentée, entre autres, à Movement Research à The Judson Church et au Munich Dance Festival. En 2016, elle a commencé à travailler sur son projet de maîtrise entre l’is et le pourrait être (2016) qui a exploré les formes chorégraphiques émergentes, et d’autres méthodes pour modifier les aspects du spectateur. En 2016, elle a complété sa maîtrise à la Graduate School, DAS Choreography (Amsterdam). Actuellement, elle travaille sur de nouveaux projets à Montréal, au Portugal, à Amsterdam et à Terre-Neuve. Elle a récemment été sélectionnée pour participer à une résidence chorégraphique intensive avec Deborah Hay.

2017

Lara Oundjian  | Going through the thing  (Titre provisoire)

PRÉSENTATION PUBLIQUE – DIM 3 DÉC

RÉSERVATION

DESCRIPTION DE LA PIÈCE
Going through the thing
 est un paysage visuel évolutif qui suit les rencontres entre êtres et corps objectifiés. C’est une exploration du comportement des matières. L’oeuvre expose les qualités des substances, reconstruisant avec celles-ci des liens au moyen de la sensorialité, de la curiosité et du risque. Composé partiellement en live, le jeu comme méthode de la survie devient par extension une méthode de composition.

Chorégraphe : Lara Oundjian
Interprétes : Justin de Luna, Lena Demnati, Kate Ramsden, Lara Oundjian

BIOGRAPHIE
Lara Oundjian est une danseuse, performeuse, vidéaste et dramaturge basée à Montréal. Elle est formée en performance expérimentale, danse contemporaine et théâtre physique (SMASH Berlin, la programme PORCH à Ponderosa, des ateliers avec Studio 303 et Circuit-Est à Montréal, Tanzfabrik et Marameo à Berlin, ainsi que Odin Théâtre au Danemark (2014-2017). Elle est diplômée de l’Université McGill en études de films et en études culturelles (2014). Entant que créatrice et interprète, Lara s’intéresse aux notions de durée, de composition live et d’états physiques. Elle aborde le corps comme étant une matière ayant la capacité se transformer. Ses recherches actuelles se penchent sur l’observation des processus tactils et sensoriels du performeuse et des environnements sonores et visuels qui sont générés par ces contextes. Lara a présenté le travaille solo à Ponderosa en allemagne et au Théâtre la Chapelle à Montreal en 2017.

MINE DE RIEN: UN COLLECTIF (MARIE MOUGEOLLE ET LIANE THÉRIAULT)  | PEER TO PEER (Hacking Mine de rien)

PRÉSENTATION PUBLIQUE – DIM 29 OCT

RÉSERVATION

DESCRIPTION DE LA PIÈCE
PEER TO PEER est un laboratoire collectif de re-création de Mine de rien, pièce créée en 2015 par Liane Thériault et Marie Mougeolle. 4 créateurs ont carte blanche pour recréer Mine de rien avec la complicité des interprètes. PEER TO PEER est un grand jeu de piratages successifs où les univers s’entrechoquent, le spectacle change de forme, le jeu change de règles.

Idée originale : MINE DE RIEN : UN COLLECTIF (Liane Thériault et Marie Mougeolle)
Créateurs : Dans son salon (Emmalie Ruest et Karenne Gravel), Helen Simard, Andrew Turner
Complices : Marijoe Foucher, Stéphanie Fromentin, Marine Rixhon, Antoine Turmine
Guitariste : Roger White

BIOGRAPHIES
D’abord soutien à la création pour l’une ou l’autre, Marie Mougeolle et Liane Thériault collaborent depuis 2012. Elles sautent le pas d’une véritable création collective en 2015 avec « Mine de rien : une pièce », programmée au offta 2015 et à la 4e édition de Hors Lits Montréal en 2016.

Marie Mougeolle est interprète (Katya Montaignac, Sophie Corriveau, Les Soeurs Schmutt, Sarah Dell’Ava, Eduardo Ruiz Vergara, Andrée Martin, Helen Simard). Son solo « Entre autres » (2014) a été présenté en France et au Vietnam.  Elle est aussi professeure de ballet et rejoint La 2e Porte à Gauche au printemps 2017.

Liane Thériault travaille avec Anne-Flore de Rochambeau, Les Soeurs Schmutt, Delphine Véronneau (Tuque et capuche [TeC]), Liliane Moussa, Karine Théorêt, Julie Lebel et Claudia Chan Tak. Depuis 2013, elle fait partie du collectif Dans son salon en tant que vidéaste. En 2015, son travail solo est présenté au Festival Bouge d’ici (Personne (une)), ainsi qu’au Festival Vue sur la relève (Somebody).

À l’automne 2016, Marie et Liane fondent MINE DE RIEN: UN COLLECTIF pour donner forme et structure à leur collaboration et continuer à se poser des questions ensemble à travers leurs deux prochains projet chorégraphiques : PEER TO PEER et Comment les idées se perdent.

Photos (de haut en bas) :

Félix Hallé_Mine de rien: une pièce_Interprètes: Marie Mougeolle, Liane Thériault
Lara Oundjian_Real Play_Marilyn Cyr, Eline Guelat, Stephen John, Eryn Tempest, Chloe Hart